Buddhist Councils

I Buddhist Council 500 BC at Ajatsataru . Record the Buddha’s sayings (sutra) and codify
Rajgaha Presided by monastic rules (vinaya). Rajgaha is today’s
Mahakasyapa Rajgir
II Buddhist Council 383 BC at Kalasoka The conservative schools insisted on monastic
Vaishali rules (vinaya). The secessionist Mahasangikas
argued for more relaxed monastic
rules.Rejection of the Mahasanghikas
III Buddhist Council 250 BC Ashoka.. Purpose was to reconcile the different schools of
Pataliputra Buddhism. Presided by Moggaliputta Tissa
IV Buddhist Council 100 AD Kanishka Division into Hinayana & Mahayana. Theravada
Kashmir Presided by Buddhism does not recognize the authenticity of
Vasumitra & this council, and it is sometimes called the
Asvaghosha “council of heretical monks”.
V Buddhist Council 1871 King Mindon recite all the teachings of the Buddha and
Myanmar examine them in minute detail to see if any of
them had been altered
VI Buddhist Council 1954 P.M. U Nu




TSPSC  Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for TSPSC  Prelims and TSPSC  Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by TSPSC  Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Hope we have satisfied your need for TSPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

TSPSC Mains Test Series 2022

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

TSPSC Prelims Test Series 2022

24 Quality mock tests and GS Prelims Notes

Prelims Test Series and Notes

Prelims Printed Notes (With COD)

Subscribe to TSPSC Notes

Never Miss any TSPSC important update!

Join 2,513 other subscribers

error: Content is protected !!